Back to News Front

America’s Airlift Wing wins AMC 2022 Verne Orr Award

U.S. Air Force airmen with 62nd Airlift Wing prepare a C-17 Globemaster III prior to a night-time airlift mission as part of Exercise Rainier War 21B at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Photo credit: Master Sgt. Julius Delos Reyes

Email Article Print Article Share on Facebook Share on Reddit Share on StumbleUpon

JOINT BASE LEWIS-MCCHORD - The 62nd Airlift Wing was recently selected as Air Mobility Command's nomination for the 2022 Air Force Association Verne Orr Award.

The AFA established this award in honor of former Secretary of the Air Force Verne Orr to recognize mission-oriented accomplishments and achievements by units that made the most effective use of human resources.

"This award recognizes the exceptional teamwork and innovation across the 62nd AW," said U.S. Air Force Col. David Fazenbaker, 62nd AW commander. "I'm incredibly proud of our Mobility Warfighters' relentless determination and hard-work, as it allows us to successfully execute our mission every day!"

In 2021, the 62nd AW assisted in supporting Operation Allies Refuge, launching 29 crews within the first 25 hours, roughly 30 percent of the Kabul airlift. They transported more than 25,000 personnel in the Air Force's largest non-combatant evacuation in history.

Additionally, the 62nd AW accomplished Exercise Rainier War, building tactics, techniques and procedures, exemplifying Agile Combat Employment concepts, which demonstrated the Air Force Chief of Staff's Accelerate Change or Lose order.

America's Airlift Wing also developed concepts of operations and partnered with experts to achieve the best vaccination rate among AMC units with 97 percent of its personnel fully immunized. Airmen with 62nd AW also screened more than 90,000 service members and families flying through the Seattle Tacoma International Airport.

Moreover, the 62nd AW earned AMC's Director of Safety Award through successful workplace health and safety programs.

"This prestigious award was the result of each and every airman in this wing operating, innovating and working towards achieving the mission," Fazenbaker said.

The AFA will announce the overall Air Force winner for the Verne Orr award later this year.

Read next close

News Front

‘Thunderbolts’ honor ‘The Four Chaplains’

comments powered by Disqus