McChord airmen celebrate Log Fest 2016

By Senior Airman Jacob Jimenez on May 12, 2016

Horns blew loudly and sirens wailed as airmen screamed and yelled. More than 500 airmen from Team McChord cheered as this year's Knucklebuster was announced at the Log Fest 2016 Awards dinner, April 29, on Joint Base Lewis-McChord.

An annual tradition for recognizing maintainers around the Air Force, this year's Log Fest was hosted to recognize Team McChord's best maintainers and the best of the best: Knucklebuster.

"It's about taking time to recognize their hard work," said Senior Master Sgt. Cari Mujica, 62nd Maintenance Group maintenance training superintendent. "Many times airmen feel overworked, underpaid and unrecognized. We want them to know we see what they do every day and appreciate it."

The overall Log Fest winner and this year's Knucklebuster is Tech. Sgt. Jose Cardenas, 62nd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron crew chief.

"I had no idea - I'm blown away and surprised," said Cardenas. "I am also very grateful for the airmen I work with for nominating me. If it wasn't for their support, I wouldn't have won this award."

There was a total of 72 Knucklebuster nominees this year, nominated from five squadrons and the 62nd Maintenance Group. Unlike traditional award nominees, Knucklebuster nominees are nominated by their peers for high work performance and overall character.

"Knucklebusters are some of the hardest workers on the lowest level," said Mujica. "It was great to throw this informal event to celebrate their hard work and accomplishments."

The event kicked off with a medallion ceremony for nominees followed by a social hour. The medallion ceremony was presided over by Col. John Knack, 62nd MXG deputy commander, and Lt. Col Joseph Muhlberger, 627th Logistics Readiness Squadron commander.

"Working together, this ‘team of teams' provides excellence in rapid global mobility and enables all the other mission partners across JBLM to execute their missions without fail," said Knack. "These teams have succeeded at every part of the mission."

This year's squadron award winners were as follows: