JBLM unit a winner

By Lt. Col. Andy Thaggard on January 28, 2022

Maj. Gen. David J. Francis, U.S. Army Aviation Center of Excellence and Fort Rucker commander, announced the Fiscal Year 2021 recipients of the Ellis D. Parker Awards during the Army Aviation Senior Leader Forum Jan. 19.

The Ellis D. Parker Award annually recognizes the top Army Aviation battalions (or equivalent) in four categories based on unit mission, and is named for Lt. Gen. Don Parker, an Army Aviation pioneer. Awards will formally be presented to the units in the near future.

Table of Distribution and Allowances (TDA) Category: Special Operations Aviation Training Battalion, U.S. Army Special Operations Aviation Command, Fort Campbell, Kentucky

Combat Service Support Category: 404th Aviation Support Battalion, 4th Combat Aviation Brigade, 4th Infantry Division, Fort Carson, Colorado

Combat Support Category: 2nd Airfield Operations Battalion, 111th Aviation Regiment, 83rd Troop Command (Combined Joint Task Force - Horn of Africa),

U.S. Africa Command: Camp Lemonnier, Djibouti

Combat Category, and overall winner: 4th Squadron, 6th Cavalry Regiment, 16th Combat Aviation Brigade, 7th Infantry Division, Joint Base Lewis-McChord

More information on the Ellis D. Parker Award can be found at: https://home.army.mil/rucker/index.php/about/usaace/usaace-g1g4/ellis-d-parker-award.