62nd AW wins AMC safety office of the year

By Airman 1st Class Leah Young on February 4, 2012

The 62nd Airlift Wing Safety Office recently earned the 2011 Air Mobility Command Safety Office of the Year Award.

"This is a win for the entire wing," said Lt. Col. Jason King, 62nd AW chief of wing safety. "Each and every Airman's effort to safely accomplish the mission made 2011 one of the best years on record for McChord Field. Every Airman played a part, and every Airman should be proud."

Last year, the office operated 53 C-17 Globemaster IIIs and launched more than 12,000 sorties without a major mishap. By spreading awareness and involving everyone from commanders and supervisors down to individual Airmen, all ground mishaps were reduced by 17 percent.

The office received an "excellent" rating during the Unit Compliance Inspection with zero flight safety discrepancies. Also, during a no-notice Limited Nuclear Surety Inspection, the office garnered an "outstanding" rating with four total strength areas.

"Strengthening the nuclear enterprise remains a top priority for our service and our nation," said King. "The professionals at McChord Field are leading the way with passion and a culture of continuous improvement like never before."

In addition to the office award, two safety professionals were individually recognized. Tom Thompson was named AMC Safety Civilian of the Year and Capt. William Dabney was named AMC Nuclear Surety Individual of the Year.

"It is such an honor and so humbling just to be nominated," said Thompson. "The civilians within the office here are such professionals and are so good at what they do, that to be nominated from among that group was just a tremendous honor. Then to win at the AMC level was just so humbling that I was speechless. Even though it is an individual award, I think it is a great testament to the quality people we have here."