Two from McChord finalists for AMC's NCOs of the year

By Air Force News on March 10, 2011

SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. -- The commander of Air Mobility Command, Gen. Raymond E. Johns Jr., announced in a message March 7 the finalists for AMC's first sergeant of the year and outstanding Airmen of the year for 2010.

Twelve Airmen from across AMC have been selected for the competition. In his message, General Johns said the awards "recognize individuals whose exceptional achievements and leadership qualities set them apart and distinguished them from their peers."

General Johns' message also noted the "competition this year was fierce." 

"All of the candidates demonstrated tremendous leadership and dedication," General Johns said in the message. "Please accept my sincere congratulations to the nominees, and thanks to all the Mobility Airmen for making a positive difference around the world and across the entire spectrum of operations."

Following are the finalists in Airman, NCO, senior NCO and first sergeant categories.

AMC's Airmen of the Year finalists
-- Senior Airman Nichole Link, Headquarters AMC, Scott AFB, Ill.
-- Senior Airman Kristina Zacherl, 6th Air Mobility Wing, MacDill AFB, Fla.
-- Airman 1st Class Jerry Bailey, 92nd Air Refueling Wing, Fairchild AFB, Wash.

AMC's Noncommissioned of the Year finalists
-- Master Sgt. Tanya Hubbard, 60th Air Mobility Wing, Travis AFB, Calif.
-- Master Sgt. Felicia Williams, 436th Airlift Wing, Dover AFB, Del.
-- Staff Sgt. Mark Walker, 62nd Airlift Wing, Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash.

AMC's Senior Noncommissioned of the Year finalists
-- Senior Master Sgt. Michael Bouwman, 60th AMW, Travis AFB, Calif.
-- Senior Master Sgt. Patrick Jones, 375th Air Mobility Wing, Scott AFB, Ill.
-- Master Sgt. Kevin Brandt, 62nd AW, Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash.

AMC's First Sergeant of the Year finalists
-- Senior Master Sgt. Stephen Kniffen, 735th Air Mobility Squadron, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Hawaii
-- Master Sgt. Vincent Lomman, 87th Air Base Wing, Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J.
-- Master Sgt. Michael Moore, 92nd ARW, Fairchild AFB, Wash.

"Thank you to all of our Mobility Airmen," General Johns said in the message. "Your commitment, initiative and leadership are making a difference around the world. Congratulations again to our finalists, and my best wishes for your continued success."

The finalists will all be visiting AMC in late March to determine the final winners.